Skip To Main Content

Hall of Honor

Commerce ISD Hall of Honor

The annual Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony and Luncheon took place on September 22, 2023, which was CHS homecoming weekend. 

This year’s inductees include:
Glenda Henderson, a former CHS teacher
Anthony Henry Sr., a CHS graduate and Commerce City Council Mayor Pro Tempore
P.J. Winston, a CHS graduate and current DEA agent

CISD Hall of Honor Logo
2023 Hall of Honor Inductees

Glenda Henderson
Anthony Henry, Sr.
P.J. Winston

2022 Hall of Honor Inductees
Betty Casselberry
Jerry Speight
Eddie Pannell
Amy Johnson
Jimmy Ogden
Hall of Honor activities were not held in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019 Hall of Honor Inductees

Carolyn Burt
Kristin Barker Hames
Medley Wilson
Wade Wilson

2018 Hall of Honor Inductees

Chris Elliott
Harry Turner
Scott Williams
Wyman Williams

Induction Ceremony

2017 Hall of Honor Inductees

Chris Clark
Janet John
Dr. Mary Thomas
Charlie Wilson

Induction Ceremony

2016 Hall of Honor Inductees

Steve Lineweaver
Sharice Henry Chasi
Dr. Jerry Lytle
Neal Stewart

Induction Ceremony

2015 Hall of Honor Inductees

Bruce Hineman
Anne Mills
Michael Oglesby
Billy Relford

2014 Hall of Honor Inductees

Donna Crosby
Conner John
Harriet Williams

2013 Hall of Honor Inductees

Myra Beadles
H. Dan Farell
Billie Garrett
Mary Spencer

2012 Hall of Honor Inductees

Buddy Jones
Sue Sheppard
Norris Tanton

2011 Hall of Honor Inductees

Alvis Alderman
Ann Champion
Bill Fuhrmeister
Mary Hendrix
Loretta Kibler
Janet Peek

2010 Hall of Honor Inductees

Harry Champion
Emmett Day Sr.
June Moore Dunn
Dr. Jack Pirkey

We are now accepting nominations for the 2024 Commerce ISD Hall of Honor. The program recognizes former students of CHS or Norris School who have had distinguished careers and staff members who have made a significant impact on the students of CISD or Norris School.

Make up of the selection committee

Committee members are chosen initially by the superintendent and two community members. Members of the committee remain anonymous and must have been members of the community for ten or more years. The committee will be made up of not less than four members, but no more than five. Two members will rotate off every two years and will recommend a replacement. The entire committee will vote on new members each year.

Student Qualifications

  • Nominee must be an ex-student of Commerce ISD or Norris School;
  • Nominee must be out of high school at least ten years;
  • Nominee, or family member if deceased, will be expected to attend the festivities for the day; and
  • Nominee must possess good character throughout their lives.

Staff Member Qualifications

  • Employed in Commerce ISD or Norris School for at least four years;
  • Nominee, or family member if deceased, will be expected to attend the festivities for the day; and
  • Nominee must possess good character throughout their lives.

Nomination Process

Persons wanting to nominate someone for the Hall of Honor may do so in the following ways:

  • Download and complete a
    nomination form.
    Mail the completed form to: 
    CISD Hall of Honor 
    ATTN: Selection Committee 
    Commerce ISD 
    3315 Washington St. 
    Commerce, TX 75429
  • Request an email or mailed nomination form by calling 903 886-3755.
  • Deadline for 2023 nominations will be announced in the fall of 2024.
  • The Hall of Honor Ceremony will take place as a part of the Homecoming festivities in 2024.