

BY-THE-MINUTES REPORT

September 2014

Light agenda for September

CISD Board members met September 15 for their regular monthly board meeting. Items considered in the session closed to the public included the results of the school safety audit and personnel.

The Board approved TASB Local Policy Update 100 and employed Devan Marrow as a high school teacher.

In his superintendent's report, Blake Cooper proudly announced that enrollment was up 33 students from this time last year — 1530. A total of 91 students transfer into the district from other districts. Since every student roughly brings in \$5000 in revenue, he was pleased with the increase.

Cooper said he signed a contract to engage the Friends of Texas Public Schools to conduct an ambassador program for the district. The program is designed to unite campus and district staff around the organization's purpose and strengthen the culture of brotherhood among those who work in the schools.

CMS Patrick Just reported that he was hearing positive comments about the sixth grade being separated from the seventh and eighth graders and his teachers liked the new schedule which gives expanded time for core subjects. He said his campus seems calmer with less stress since bells are not sounded to change classes.

Superintendent Cooper thanked Director of Curriculum and Instruction Charlie Alderman and ag teacher Tommy Marshall for digging the post holes for the ag barn fencing.



Tickets for the Hall of Honor Luncheon and Induction Ceremony are \$15 each and are available by calling Betty Brown at 903 886-3755.

The ceremony will be held Friday, September 26 at noon in the Central Administration Building.

Donna Crosby, Conner John and Harriet Williams will be inducted into the Hall of Honor.



Commerce Schools Educational Enrichment Foundation board members presented CISD teachers with instructional grants totalling over \$57,000, the largest amount funded since the Foundation's inception in 2001. Shown left to right front row: Superintendent Blake Cooper, CSEEF President Jack Pirkey, Beverly Pirkey, Janet Duncan, Patti Doster, Janet Peek, Wyman Williams and Jerry Keeble and teachers Stephanie Pullen and Misti Gardner. Second row Elizabeth Bialecki, Marilyn Henson, Sherry Rector, Dee Dee Harris, Jennifer Speulda, Sonya Mathews, Keiondra Simpson, Karen Hubbert, Lucinda Perez, Julie McLeroy and Andrew Simpson. Back row: Patricia Nelle, Karen Davis, Kirby Gilbert, Meagan Heath, Wendy Bridges, Samantha Bland, John T. Walker, Carrie Kimbrell and Meagan Baxter.

BOARD MEETINGS

7:00 • 3315 Washington

Monday...October 20 Monday November 17 Monday.....Dec. 15