

Board sits for last meeting of 2014

The CISD Board of Trustees approved several routine matters at its December meeting including approving the minutes and the financial statements and accepting resignations from Jeanne Lay, CES principal, who is retiring in January, Mary Park, NETCAT director, and Carl Terrell, CHS teacher.

In other action, the Board voted to suspend a portion of Local policy EIE for the 2014-2015 school year. This action will change the requirement that all students in grades 5 and 8 meet the passing standards on the mathematics state-mandated assessment to be promoted on the next grade. The state has not set the passing standards for the test because the essential knowledge and skills for math have been significantly revised this year.

CHS Principal David Welch asked the Board to accept a donation of \$20,700 from the J.W. Bagley Foundation. The gift has been given annually to the school where Welch has served as principal. Last year, the money was used to take CHS seniors to the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, Florida.

The notice of deadline to file applications for a place on the May 9, 2015 CISD Board of Trustees has been posted as required. Candidates may file for a place on the ballot from January 28 to February 27, 2015 at the Central Administration Building. Board members in those places up for election are Randy Starks and Etta Herring.

Superintendent Blake Cooper reported enrollment up one student from last month. However, the count is up 43 students from this time last year.





Pledges to the American and Texas flags were led by ACW students Jackson Deason and Jewell Williams.



The CISD Board recognized the **Bi-District Championship Tiger** Football Team and coaches. The team finished with a 7-5 record with their last opponent headed to the state finals. Pictured front row, left to right are Head Coach and Boys AD Jeff Cleveland, Darrien Redd, Matthew Rumbaugh and Jamion Shaw. Second row includes Coach Travis Smith, Sam Rasberry, Marvin Askew and Coach Vince Taylor. Back row includes Austin Morgan, Nic Smith and Troy Pemberton.

December 2014