Board members run unopposed

Places 1, 2 and 3 which are held by Kathleen Hooten, Gabe Wittkopf and Ray Green, ran unopposed for the CISD Board. 


An individual is eligible to be a candidate for election if the individual:

  • is a United States citizen;
  • is 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable;
  • has not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisidiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote; 
  • has not been finally convicted of a felony from which the individual has not been pardoned or otherwise released from resulting disabilities;
  • has resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding;
  • is registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected on the date described above and
  • satisfies any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for the office. 

The Commerce ISD Board of Trustees meets monthly, the third Monday of each month, at the Commerce ISD Board Room at 3315 Washington St., Commerce, TX

Contact Renee Bates at 903 366-0970 for more information. 




CISD Board of Trustees
Kathleen Hooten
Kathleen Hooten, President
Ms. Hooten was elected to the Board in 2013. She and her husband Greg have one son who is a CHS graduate. Ms. Hooten is an educator and she serves on several Boards of Directors including Northeast Texas Children's Museum. She runs the day-to-day operation of the family ranch.

Term expires May 2025

Randy Starks
Randy Starks, Vice President
Mr. Starks was elected to the Board in 2009. He is a senior sales representative for Allergan Pharmaceutical. He and his wife Karen have a son who is a 2011 graduate of Commerce High School.
Term expires May 2024



Gabe Wittkopf
Gabe Wittkopf, Secretary
Mr. Wittkopf was elected to the Board in 2010. He has two children, one a CHS graduate and the other currently attends CHS. He works for the City of Commerce.


Term expires May 2025


Kelsey Lytle
Kelsey Lytle
Kelsey Lytle and her husband Jaret are Commerce High School graduates. Three of their four young children attend Commerce schools. Lytle is a graduate of Texas A&M University and she volunteers for various community organizations. She was appointed to the Board in December 2020. 

Term expires May 2023

LaVelle Hendricks
Dr. LaVelle Hendricks
Dr. Hendricks is Professor/Chair of the Department of Counseling at Texas A&M University-Commerce. He is actively involved in Commerce Community Cares and Rotary Club. He is a sought-after speaker on drug and alcohol awareness throughout the area. 

Dr. Hendricks was elected to the Board in May 2014

Term expires May 2023



Board member Dr. Ray Green
Dr. Ray Green
Dr. Green is Dean of the Honors College and Professor of psychology at Texas A&M University-Commerce. He and his wife Sabrina have two children, both of whom are CHS graduates. Green was appointed to the Board in October 2017.

Term expires May 2025


Doc Pierce
Wayne "Doc" Pierce
Mr. Pierce was elected to the Board in 2021. He is married to Cindy who has been a teacher for CISD for over 20 years. He has two daughters who graduated from CHS. His daughter Margaret also teaches at CISD. Mr. Pierce served over 36 years in law enforcement before retiring in 2020.