Four inducted into CISD Hall of Honor

Commerce ISD inducted a former students and three staff member into its Hall of Honor during an induction ceremony and luncheon October 12 at the CISD Administration Building. The honorees addressed approximately 75 friends, family and colleagues and were presented a plaque and blanket commemorating the event by CISD Superintendent Charlie alderman. Inductees included Chris Clark, a 1991 CHS graduate and member of "The President's Own" Marine Band; Janet John, a 41-year CISD teacher; Dr. Mary Thomas, a 1972 CHS graduate and CISD teacher and current director of State and Federal Accountability at Austin; and Charlie Wilson, long-time teacher, coach and CHS principal.

Honorees attended the CHS pep rally where they were introduced. They also were honored prior to the CHS homecoming football game vs Grand Saline at Texas A&M University-Commerce's Memorial Stadium. They were introduced on the field as honorary captains.

Former students who have established distinguished careers and former staff who have made a listing impact are considered for the Hall of Honor distinction.

  • Hall of Honor Inductees-- Chris Clark, Janet John, Dr. Mary Thomas and Charlie Wilson with CISD Board President Kathleen Hooten and Superintendent Charlie Alderman.

  • Hall of Honor inductee Chris Clark with Superintendent Charlie Alderman

  • Hall of Honor inductee Janet John with Superintendent Charlie Alderman

  • Superintendent Charlie Alderman with Hall of Honor inductee Dr. Mary Thomas

  • Superintendent Charlie Alderman with Hall of Honor inductee Charlie Wilson

  • Former students led a cheer they learned in Janet John's sixth grade classroom as she was introduced at the pep rally.

  • Dr. Thomas is the niece of A.C. Williams, former CISD administrator.

  • Honorary captains at the homecoming game

Our Mission

In partnership with families and community, CISD will provide all students an exemplary education, preparing them to be successful, productive citizens. 

Copyright © 2016 Commerce Independent School District

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM